© 2019 by Cross Country Alaska (CCAK). Proudly created with Wix.com

2020 Junior Nationals

2020 Arctic Winter Games

2020 Cross Country Junior Nationals will be held in Truckee, California hosted by the Auburn Ski Club Training Center  March 7th – 14th, 2020.

Specific information for 2020 Junior Nationals will be posted as the host club provides information. Feel free to watch the Auburn Ski Club Junior Nationals website. Tickets are secured and the departure date for Team Alaska is the early morning of Thursday, March 5. The return date is arriving in Anchorage Sunday, March 15.

The team quota for the 2020 season will once again be expanded to 50 athletes. The allocation of the additional eight skiers (four female/four male) will be finalized at the October  2019 meeting.

Arctic Winter Games 2020 will be held in Whitehorse, Yukon Territory. The dates are March 15-20, 2020.

The team consists of 24 skiers:

  • four male & four female U14 skiers

  • four male & four female U16 skiers

    • Congratulations to Western Interior Skiing Association Championships qualifier Finn Hornfischer of Unalakleet. He earned the first position on this team as a result of the 2019 Spring Championships. There are three U16 male skier spots remaining as we go into the 2019-20 ski season.

  • four male & four female U18 skiers

The travel dates for the bus trip to & from Whitehorse will likely be Friday, March 13, returning March 21. The specifics are being finalized.

The Arctic Winter Games is a unique and worthwhile event . Two positions on the AWG team are reserved for the top male and top female skier from Western Alaska Championships held the previous March. Depending on the age class of these athletes, the next 3, instead of 4, positions will be selected from the points list.

Team Alaska Selection Procedures

2020 selection procedure for Team Alaska for Junior Nationals & Arctic Winter Games will be posted after expansion decision for 2019-20 has been made.
2019-20 season selection procedure for Team Alaska (expansion team season)
Discretionary Selection Procedures (to be added)