top of page

CCAK Hall of Fame

In April 2015, CCAK hosted a celebration honoring the inaugural class of the Alaska Cross Country Hall of Fame.

In 1999 CCAK created a process, took nominations and voted in the first members to this Hall of Fame. Since then ski life happened for the people involved and the Hall of Fame was put on the back burner. CCAK made it a priority to recognize those who forged the way and developed the trails for the skiers of today to enjoy their successes. The evening included a vintage style show, a silent auction, and recognition of 13 of Alaska’s coaches, Olympians, and trail builders. It was a night that those in attendance heard the rich history of Alaska skiing and put faces to the names of the trails on which many of us ski and met some of Alaska’s Olympians.


Inaugural Alaska Cross Country Hall of Fame Members
Dick Mize, Jim Burkholder, Judy Rabinowitz, Jim Mahaffey, Greg & Elizabeth Whisenhant (for Jim Whisenhant), Bill Spencer, Lin Hinderman, Ronn Randall (for Kikkan Randall), Kendra & Leah Besh (for Tom Besh), John Estle, Ken Burns (for Sven Johannsen). Not pictured Audun Endestad.

Please take a look at the program from the event to learn about some of the people who have greatly impacted cross country skiing in Alaska. They are a very inspiring group of people!

2015 Cross Country Hall of Fame Program - Inaugural Class

2016 Cross Country Hall of Fame Program

bottom of page